Guilty


I feel bad because the last few posts have been about Twitter projects and I haven’t said anything about Ella for 6 weeks, so I feel a bit guilty about that. It’s been a busy six weeks in her life, and I’ll just talk about two things: potty training (yuk) and school.

I was probably a bit unsure about potty training last time I blogged, but we’ve come a long way since then. In terms of wee, we’re quite safe, and Ella will almost always request to go when she needs to wherever we are. Indeed she can even hold it for a while so it doesn’t have to be a completely mad dash for a toilet. Number 2s or poos are not so good. She’ll occasionally warn us, but it’s still far from reliable. This means she is still usually in pull-up nappies. Maybe we’ll only have to change them once or twice during the day, but it still lingers on. Ella is noticing she is getting too big for the changing table at home, so maybe she’ll finally take the hint from that. In the good weather we’ve had recently, we have taken the opportunity to just put pants on, but as a result a couple have gone straight in the bin to avoid disgusting cleaning up operations.

Since the last blog about Ella she has started at pre-school one day a week. I spent some of her first day at the school with her, and she settled right in and wasn’t all that bothered that I wasn’t around when I hid away for a bit having a cup of tea, so when I left halfway through the morning I wasn’t too worried that she’d be upset I was gone. It was weird watching her in that environment, independent of either of her parents, mostly especially when she was feeding herself her morning cereal snack. She looked just like a proper kid, all grown-up, not at all like a baby. A very poignant moment. Since then we think she’s settled in well. The school says she’s great and they are very happy with her. She can be a bit clingy/moody when I drop her off in the morning, but she isn’t actually that bothered when I leave. I am surprised that it doesn’t tire her out that much, ie she doesn’t need a nap when she comes home (naps generally having gone by the wayside now).

The other point of note is her story telling. She does make up some very strange but cracking stories these days. Birds pecking her nose, swings in the forest which go on fire and the firemen coming, all sorts. Obviously she’s got a good imagination, which is nice but sometimes you need to take what she says with a pinch of salt.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

